Designated Consumers

Printer-friendly version
As per the provision of the clause (e) and (f) of section (14) of the Energy Conservation (EC) Act 2001, the Central Government notified the criteria for Designated Consumers vide S.O no. 394(E) dated 12th March, 2007 under which industrial units from 9 energy intensive sectors (Aluminum, Cement, Chlor-Alkali, Fertilizer, Iron & Steel, Paper & Pulp, Railways, Thermal Power and Textile) have been notified as Designated Consumers.  The Government has notified the mandatory Energy Audit vide S.O 1378 (E) dated 27th May, 2014 for the Designated Consumers to help in identifying various energy saving opportunities in energy intensive industries & other establishments